Bulgaria is a country in Southeastern Europe. It is located in the eastern part of the Balkan Peninsula and occupies 23% of its territory. Borders to the north with Romania, to the west with Serbia and Republic of Macedonia, to the south with Greece and to the south-east with Turkey.
In ancient times in the lands of today's Bulgaria cultures of Thracians, Greeks and Romans were developing. The First Bulgarian State was established in 681. Bulgaria has an important role in the spread of Christianity, literature and culture among the peoples of Eastern Europe. At the beginning of the 15th century then The Second Bulgarian State was incorporated into the Ottoman Empire and remained part of it for five centuries. The Russo-Turkish War of 1877-78 led to the creation of the Third Bulgarian State. After World War II the country became part of the Eastern Block and a communist regime was established. In 1990 the parliamentary democracy was restored in Bulgaria and today the country is a member of the European Union and NATO.

Climate: Continental climate with hot summers and cold winters.
Territory: 110 994 sq. km
Population: 7 245 677 (31.12.2013)
Capital: Sofia
Official language: Bulgarian
Religion: Eastern Orthodox
Political system: Parliamentary Republic
National currency: Lev (BGN), 1 BGN = € 0,511
Time Zone: GMT +2

We use cookies to give you the best experience when you visit our website.